Twist and Shout

One of several tornadoes observed by the VORTE...

One of several tornadoes observed by the VORTEX-99 team on May 3, 1999, in central Oklahoma.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever paid attention to the structural integrity of a new house being built? I’m getting ahead of myself.  First let me ask you,  “Are you a construction type person? You know, someone who has the knowledge of building codes, solid construction practices, and pretty much know what you’re looking at when you look at it?”

I was a carpenter by trade, a superintendent on residential and commercial projects and a draftsman. I know what it takes to erect a structurally sound building. Houses of today are built to withstand high winds, heavy rains, snow loads and many of the other things this world can dish out.

Skyscrapers are erected with large steel columns and “I” beams in such a way that they can withstand earthquakes and winds at such velocity that would tear the average house to shreds.

On the other hand, many commercial buildings are constructed with cinder blocks and metal bar joists for the roof structure.

In hurricane prone areas, special precautions are implemented, such as bolting the walls from the top plate to the foundation, hurricane clips on the roof system and windows that can stand high winds and strikes from debris.

As in the case of storm cellars in the mid-west, it’s best to get out of the path of nature’s most destructive forces; i.e. the tornado. In recent years, a new breed of storm chaser has set themselves apart from the rest.  I now feel the need to start a new paragraph and express my most valued opinion.

Here’s the new paragraph and here’s my version of an op/ed. I’ve always been fascinated by weather, especially that of the tornadic variety. I have even thought I would like to chase tornadoes but in the part of the country in which I live, I would do just as well sitting on my front porch watching for twisters as I would burning fuel to run the roads looking for the cyclonic wind storms. But I cannot for the life of me understand why someone would want to park a vehicle in the middle of one of these widow-makers. I guess it kinda goes along the same lines as jumping out of a perfectly good airplane.

To sum up, as you write (or for those who create an outline before beginning their novel) keep your story structurally sound taking care to keep the winds of whimsy from racking your building or possibly causing a catastrophic failure.

Well, I’ll be. Looks like I got a twister a coming this way after all!  Ya’ll scuse me whilst I hitch a ride. I’m off to see the wizard….

1 Comment

Filed under On writing

One response to “Twist and Shout

  1. terri

    twist and shout, {I love it } maybe I will see you in munchkin land !!!!! love the
    tornado picture also. looking forward to your next blog.

Leave a Reply

