Haul it Your Own Self, I’m Waitin’ for the Wheel.

English: Wheelbarrow at a construction site at...

English: Wheelbarrow at a construction site at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina / USA.

What could be better than laying in your back yard on a warm summer day? Your hands intertwined behind your head, legs crossed, and a piece of grass hanging out of your mouth. Your thoughts drift to the important. The profound. The world-changing.

One word: Wheelbarrow.

Not flamboyant enough, you say? Then allow me to enlighten you on the lowly device that has, in its own way, helped to construct our very civilization.

The wheelbarrow, then referred to as a one wheel cart, was first used in China sometime in the 12th century (give or take a 1,000 years or so).  There is evidence one wheel carts were also used in ancient Rome, although this cannot be proven.

I will thrust ahead in time to what we now know as the modern wheelbarrow.  A bit of interesting information I heard (from what I believe to be a reliable source) was that a prisoner doing research found out that as old as the wheelbarrow was, it had never been patented.

He applied and received a patent for this ancient machine. Whether or not this is true, I cannot be sure. But it sure makes for a good story.

As you yourself ponder the ins and outs, ups and downs and various aspects of your life, consider where you would be without your wheelbarrow (that I’m sure you have tucked away, lovingly placed in your garage).  Now you see what I mean.

Think of the mounds of dirt, the piles of leaves and the bounty of vegetables you have hauled in this invaluable work horse. Still not enough for you? Then use it to haul those substandard manuscripts you have been writing the past few years to the dump. Or do like I do, and use them to line your birdcage.

And to answer the question “what could be better than laying in your back yard on a hot sultry day covered in sweat and insects, eating grass and thinking about something as ludicrous as a wheelbarrow?” well, just about anything, my friend. Just about anything.

1 Comment

Filed under On writing

One response to “Haul it Your Own Self, I’m Waitin’ for the Wheel.

  1. I find an air of nobility and honor hovering about a wheelbarrow each time I see one. Perhaps my feelings are connected to Williams’ famous poem. Perhaps they are born from my own sense of accomplished each time I use a wheelbarrow. Each time I do, something gets done, something honorable gets done.

    S. Thomas Summers
    Author of Private Hercules McGraw: Poems of the American Civil War

Leave a Reply

