Who is this “Chad” and why is he hanging?

US Capitol Building Front New

US Capitol Building Front New (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m going to do something I promised myself I would not do when I started this blog–that something is talk about politics. Now here is what I know (which I admit is not very much) about the aforementioned: It is a necessary evil; it can be cutthroat; it can very rarely be polite and gentlemanly; and the saying, “absolute power corrupts absolutely,” holds true.

I have found that most politicians are interchangeable, although there are a few that I trust totally… Unfortunately, all of these are dead.

As you all know, we are in the midst of an election year. All I can say about that is get out to vote if you can, and most importantly, God help us all.

It just so happens I am on vacation while penning this post. Now being at the beach and thinking of politicians draws my thoughts surf-side, where many bottom-feeders dwell. Unless you’re in the tropics, most ocean water seems murky so that while swimming you are unable to see the bottom. Please allow me to inform you that this is another gift from God.

I have only seen beach water clear once. I was on vacation in the Outer Banks, and even after wading out up to my neck, could easily see the bottom. There were more creatures running from me as I walked than I thought lived in the ocean…and they were staying just inches ahead.

Now back on the beach in the sand, we see the pounding surf roll in and as it recedes, it deposits another layer of compressed sand, shells, and other oceanic leavings. As beautiful as this menagerie of crushed, ancient, sea-life is, this is not something you want to incorporate in your writing.

Keep your story concise and clear, and not muddled with attractive refuse. What might first appear appropriate may later prove to distort the narrative.

…so now you know my view on politics, politicians, and crabs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Rising Tide

Leave a Reply

