I’ve Written Miles of Line With an Ink Pen and Slashed a Sword Through the Air…For me The Jury’s Still Out

ae32002e643ca97ec9048a3fcebc1a44Don’t ya just love cliché’s? There’s one in particular I’ve heard most of my life, and that is: the pen is mightier than the sword. I know what Edward Bulwer-Lytton was trying to say in 1839, and it certainly rings true, but when I attempt to embrace it, try as I might, I cannot. Each time the saying comes to mind, even though I’m a writer, I envision myself bringing a ball point pen to a sword fight–not a pretty sight. Nuff said.

Since I brought up the subject of being a writer, I’d like to mention the many new words you run across as you write. Along with writing, I’ve always had a good memory. Put the two together, add a little curiosity, and you’ll come up with someone who has a flair for trivia. I often receive compliments on my ability to retain a myriad of information, which translates into a  proficiency for trivia. Now, we all know what trivia is–which means my claim to fame is a head full of useless information.

I hate to say it, but it looks like I’ve written myself into another corner. On the plus side, that’s more work for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

