How Else Could I Sit Here Looking This Goofy If I Weren’t As Goofy As I Look?

2665ac5bf28edf779a626550f2645249_free-vector-search-secretary-secretary-clipart-pictures_361-425You’re sitting in your writer’s room staring at a blank screen. Your assistant asks, “How do you come up with a blog subject to write about? Do you have a topic in mind or just stare at the monitor?”

“Shh,” you say, “you’ll find out soon enough.” If you were to take this whole scenario and place it neatly into a blog bag, what would be your criteria for finishing the aforementioned blog?

Now, since I just asked myself a question, it seems the next step would be to answer…okay, if that’s the way you want it, then an author should always be beholden to his audience.

Since I now have the blog firmly in start mode, I would begin finding ways to interject bits of humor into the text. I feel it’s important to maintain a lighthearted spirit throughout the piece, allowing the reader a respite from the daily grind, if only for a few moments. Secondly, I would include pieces of interesting information confirming this material was accurate. Then, I would make sure the blog was about writing or loosely based on writing. I use this format simply because I’m a writer and I enjoy learning fascinating blurbs of obscure topics, such as the origin of clichés and the like. And lastly, I’d  make the blog as good as it could be. How do you accomplish this, you ask? Well, for me it works to have my best buddy visit for a few hours and type these words of wisdom for her buddy. If you’re wondering what my secret is, I’ll call her the Sooze.

Please consider this my Monday morning smile from me to you!

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

