I Guess I Just Like the Name “Dalon Con”

images-2In the second book of the “Rising Tide” series, “Eden’s Wake,” I introduced a new character, “Dalon Con.” He only appeared for a page or two, but was pivotal to the outcome of the book. I found this interesting, as it shows the smallest contribution can have a profound effect on the outcome of any situation.

I decided that this act deserved more than a two page mention, barely enough to call an introduction. The only way to remedy this was to give this kind old man a novel to call his own.

I put virtual pen to virtual paper several weeks ago. I’m delving into what I would term as virgin territory, “Urban Fantasy.” It doesn’t sound like that much of a stretch since I usually write science fiction and fantasy; however, a small change in genre may influence writing in a major way.

It’s going well and I’m enjoying expanding on a character that was first encountered in an eerie wasteland, being the savior for a nearly dead protagonist. In the new book of the same name, “Dalon Con,” he alters his true persona, portraying a thirty something in a violent urban setting. He travels to his wilderness homeland to find his ward the Great One has given him to befriend in this hellish existence.

It’s amazing how we connect emotionally with someone who exists only in our mind…but I guess that’s what it’s all about.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

