Should I Consult an Attorney or Purchase “Lawyer in a Box” for my Computer? Decisions, Decisions. Well, I Reckon I’ll go With The Box.

from-machetes-to-tanks-12-lawyer-ads-that-are-just-outrageousI learned to keep my use of adjectives to a minimum when writing. It’s so easy to add unnecessary descriptive words to a manuscript as you jauntily tap, tap, tap on the key board. Once you finish a page or two and return to read the magnificent sentences you have electronically deposited on your virtual paper, you cringe. It seems as though you have a page littered with “l-y’s” and a few extra words to hold the substance of your writing (namely l-y’s) together.

It’s similar to things we find living day to day in the real world. For instance: There is a commercial broadcast across the airways that claims you can use their product to produce legal documents. I believe they call themselves “Legal Zip Zap” or something of the sort. You are led to believe this service is meant to save you money bypassing the need for a lawyer. If you read the fine print (being as I’m a fine print kinda guy) it will tell you “Legal Zip Zap” is not (and I’m paraphrasing) a substitute for legal advice, from who? That’s right, a lawyer. Unfortunately, the fine print does not appear on the screen long enough to have any chance of reading all of the tiny words. I understand you can receive help from an attorney (notice how I wrote attorney instead of lawyer?…pretty cool, huh?) supplied to you by “Legal Zip Zap.” Now for the fine print and once again I am paraphrasing. These attorneys and/or lawyers must be purchased ahead of time. I guess I’ll begin pausing the television during these commercials so I can get the dope on the small print, me being, as I have said before, a small print kinda guy.

I guess what it comes down to is, avoid an excessive amount of adjectives and stay away from questionable lawyers, all politicians, and the “if it bleeds it leads” media, in that order.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

