If It Ain’t Broke Don’t Fix It and If You’re Gonna Eat It, Then Make It the Real Thing; No Imitations Please…Just Saying.

jakeswaybackburgerHave you ever been curious about old wives tales, clichés, and repetitive sayings? I have the same interests coursing through my veins. In fact, I have formed a blue ribbon fact finding commission to investigate these series of adages. My main objective is to find the story behind these mottoes, be it fact or fiction.

I am an investigator caring not on which side this search ends but only that the truth be accurately told. On a side annotation, I will be noting my findings and turning them into what will most assuredly be a bestseller.

My first contribution to this list is the notion that rainy days are good days for ducks, when in fact ducks hate rain. Hold onto your britches.

Do you recall the misnomer that flew around for years, “blind as a bat?” Bats actually have excellent vision along with their sonar. Their sonar is so finely tuned that a bat placed in a room with an open window containing a box fan set on low was able to time the fan and escape between the moving blades.

The same bat was able to perform the identical maneuver with the fan turned to medium. With the fan on high the bat could not accomplish this feat, but how amazing that this small creation of God could slip between the fan blades moving as they were.

Have you ever heard someone say (in person or on television), “You can cut the fat and not the flavor?” Well, that’s about the biggest whopper I believe I’ve ever heard. (And I don’t mean with cheese.)

Why would anyone want to cut the fat? You know that fat equals flavor. Don’t misunderstand what I’m trying to say. I eat healthy the majority of the time, but every now and again I want a greasy, fat laden, cheese covered burger, sausage sandwich or a pizza with grease running down my forearm. We mustn’t forget a slice of cheesecake or a bowl of full fat ice cream.

This of course is all my opinion, but also my blog, so by all means adopt a healthy diet and lifestyle, but take
time to enjoy an occasional guilty pleasure, preferably one that’s full of all the truly good stuff.

See ya next week and wipe that grease off your face.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

