If I Had my Druthers, Would I Want to be Considered Among the Great Writers? … Probably Not, Most of Them are Dead

calvin-writingHave you ever paid much attention to the writing styles of other authors, both classic and modern? I’ll have to say; I’ve given it a thought a time or two.

The time or two I’m speaking of would come about after reading an author such as Stephen King and then directly to Earnest Hemingway.

Hemingway, an author I carry a great deal of respect for, can take a single act and describe the action in two sentences.

Stephen King, being one of my favorites, can take the same bit of action and describe it using two pages.

H.G. Wells, another great author, would sum up the segment in two chapters.

How can there be such a vast difference in style, between three authors with such immense talent, writing an identical scene?

Well, each author would view their work with a different perspective. It seems (and this is the literary world according to me) Hemingway concerned himself with telling a story without all the unnecessary fluff. He was a “get to the point” type of writer. Perhaps, this came about from his journalistic career earlier in life.

Stephen King was interested in conveying more than just the facts. He felt it necessary to accessorize the basics with a certain amount of pizzazz (once again the world according to Lynn).

H.G. Wells chose to pen his manuscript (War of the Worlds) in an extremely descriptive style (for the last time just my Op Ed in the literary newspaper, “The Lynn Tribune.”)

If I were to use an analogy to describe my writing style, I would title it after the Who’s song, “Pinball Wizard,” cause it bounces all over the place.

I hope I’ve stepped on no one’s toes for I hold each of these writers in the highest of esteem, but I’ll have to admit it was fun playing literary critic. Even if my performance was substandard, my nose was in no way aimed toward the ceiling. In fact, I had to clean a few dust bunnies off the hair on my upper lip from staying too close to the floor.

Have a great week, see ya next Monday!

Lynn

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

