Just Cause It Ain’t Gonna Happen, Don’t Mean It Ain’t Gonna Happen. So, Dream On (Like Me) Cause It Ain’t Gonna Happen…Maybe

peter-c-vey-man-stands-in-front-of-a-books-stand-selling-books-there-is-a-sign-that-r-cartoonOne thing I can’t seem to shake is the feeling something has gone amiss in the deep recesses in the world of book sales.

I know how difficult it can be to rack up a single purchase, after the exorbitant amount of blood, sweat, and tears spent on writing, publishing and marketing (with special emphasis on the never ending dark abyss of marketing). And, please, allow me to remind you that we’re not just talking about a stack of papers loaded with words. We’re discussing your baby. Months, if not years, of work that is tossed into a bin with other dreams that come to market at the rate of a thousand or more each day.

This brings to light my ongoing conundrum. While continually creating new works (not just novels, but short stories, blogs and the like) my concentration tends to split not unlike Jekyll and Hyde.

I long to remain consistently devoted to my current work; however, at times my thoughts drift as to how my published books are selling. There’s nothing wrong with this in the short term. Each author needs to know how their books are doing and adjust their marketing strategies accordingly.

As much as I hate to admit it, sometimes valuable energy is wasted daydreaming about a string of best-selling novels. This of course includes a box office smash complete with sequels and a media marketing extravaganza.

I’m not a pessimist but bounce back and forth between a realist and even as an optimist from time to time. I guess this helps feed my delusions of grandeur.

Oh well, I guess there’s one in every crowd, so just call me King and slap me silly.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

