Cold and Dead, Boobala! Cold and Dead!

winterI’m not sure about your situation, but I’m fortunate enough to live in a climate where I experience all four seasons during the course of the year. I’m not a big hot weather fan and the spring time pollen can be rather uncomfortable, but I still appreciate a climatic change every three months.

In fact, I’ve used weather as a basis for short stories with good results, especially when you incorporate little tidbits such as tornadoes, hurricanes, and the like.

Getting off the subject of writing for a moment, the change in seasons tends to knock me for a loop. If you were to take that loop, add a two and a half gainer, a quadruple back flip with a reverse triple somersault ending in a six point dismount, you’d pretty much describe my reaction to the change of seasons.

Ragweed in the fall is probably my nemesis. My snot locker sends a constant barrage of phlegm as a cascading waterfall down the back of my throat clogging everything in its path. “Drainage,” I believe they call it. I prefer, “Niagara Falls.”

Now, spring is a totally different animal. You get all the snot, but with a dashing array of color.

My love/hate relationship is with summer. Hot, humid, mosquitoes, ticks, assorted other biting insects, thunderstorms (which I enjoy until the power goes bye bye)…these adverse conditions help me to enjoy fall and winter, which are my two favorite seasons.

Cool weather is definitely my forte. However sad this may seem, I’m at my best when everything outside is cold and dead.

Don’t know whether or not this requires any extra thought, but I think it best that I leave it alone.

Happy winter, everybody!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

