If Napoleon’s Mother Mailed a Letter to Waterloo, I Bet it Wouldn’t Have Cost Fifteen Bucks to Mail and Possibly Never Gotten There

4955406_f260Do you remember the “Back to the Future” series of movies? One of my favorites, I’ll have to say. What if you could travel to the past and live your research for that historical novel you’ve always wanted to write? Perhaps you could take a jaunt into the future and write an amazing factual sci-fi thriller? The possibilities are endless.

You could even place yourself in the annals of history. Let’s say you sneak into Napoleon’s tent during the battle of Waterloo. You dispatch short stuff, take over his command, and accept the sound thrashing from General Wellesley. (This coincidentally is where the name Beef Wellington is derived.)

Return to a point in history just to be defeated, you ask? Why certainly, I say. Why not have your name among the great leaders and unforgettable (except for Napoleon) victors the French can boast…wait a minute. The French never won a war…there was the battle that they fought against themselves…I don’t know, maybe they called it a draw. The last time I checked, if you Google “French Military Victories” you’ll be asked, “do you mean French Military Defeats?” Who knows, but it sure makes great fodder for a blog. So let us continue.

How about that futuristic, factual, sci-fi thriller?

A lot of folks (including me not so long ago) thought the postal service was run by the government. In fact, they are completely funded by the monies they collect from the sale of stamps. Please let me pause at this juncture to mention that I believe the USPS does an outstanding job. Can you imagine having to receive, sort and deliver the billions of pieces that travel through the postal system each day? I realize a portion of this process is automated, but to mail a letter or package one day and have it arrive several days later across the country is mind boggling. My hat is off to you USPS!

Now back to our story.

What if the postal service was taken over by the government? I would imagine total anarchy would soon follow. Packages couldn’t travel between businesses in under a month even if the businesses in question were across the street from each other. A letter would cost $14.99 to mail within its state of origin. No doubt 400 to 500 pieces of mail would make it to their destination (not necessarily the correct destination) each week. All in all, what the average person would term as a stellar success for the well-oiled governmental machine. I guess we’d have to change the genre from science fiction to horror.

Please take a minute and allow me to shudder.

I’m too upset to continue writing, I think I’ll dunk my head in the toilet several times to bring things back into perspective.

Well, here come the nightmares again……..

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

