That’s Just a Couple Syllables Short of Poetic

This particular post will be a bit shorter than most. I remembered something from my past and when it comes to mind it brings with it a minute or two of enjoyment even in its simplicity.alcohol

I became a carpenter during my early days of employment. One particular job we were working was out of town and we chose to commute each day instead of procuring lodging and laying over.

Occasionally we would stop for breakfast at a small motel with the restaurant on premises just off the interstate.

As is usual, any place that caters to tourist will have different knickknacks and whatnots for sale at the cash register in hopes of a last-minute sale before the customer gets away.

There was a placard that caught my eye. It tickled me when I read it, which was every time I stopped to eat. It didn’t take long to memorize and once I did I never forgot it.

I’d like to share this with you in hopes it will bring a chuckle or a smile to your day.

 

Starkle starkle little twink, who the heck you are I think

I’m not under what you’d call, the alco-fluence of ink-cohol

I’m not drunk like thinkle peep, I’m just a little slort on sheep

I not know who is me yet, but the drunker I stand here the longer I get

So pour me one more to fill my cup, I’ve got all day sober to Sunday up.

                                                                                                     Author Unknown

Sometimes it takes the simplest things to make us smile. So, turn corners of your mouth upward often. Who knows, it just might become contagious.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

