Downsize…Downsize…Downsize

It’s that time of year again. School is out, ice cream, grilled hot dogs and hamburgers, swimming at the lake, fishing and all manner of fun stuff.

I’m speaking of none other than summer…….What’s that you say? Summer doesn’t officially arrive until June twenty-first. You’d be correct with that statement, but I’m not talking meteorology; I’m talking, good-timin-bombastic-blasting-crank-a-danken-smacka-my-head-till-the-sun-turn-it-red-funarama-in-the-middle-of-summer-ology. In layman’s terms: “Memorial Day.”

I would like to say that Memorial Day is set aside to honor the brave souls who gave it all so that we may enjoy the freedoms we are blessed with today–everything else is secondary.

God bless America!

The family vacation:My-wife-packing-for-vacation

We take a week each year to spend at the beach. Our grown children, one grandchild and last year for first time, we had the pleasure of my mother and father-in-law joining us for our yearly sojourn. This year, my mother plans to join us which will help even up the teams on our beach tackle football game.

Here’s a little bit of the preparation that goes into a week’s stay away from home:

Now, of course, we want everything in our home-away-from-home that we have in our home-not-away-from-home. This is easily accomplished if we will incorporate one word, “downsize.”

My wife and I eat very differently. So instead of one large freezer to house a week’s worth of food, we require two smaller versions to house our vittles in transit. When we get to our home-away-from-home, we will once again transfer, said vittles into a larger freezer to await our dining choice of the day. And it just so happens, purely by coincidence that several nearby grocery stores are ready to supply all the goodies that we didn’t bring from our home-not-away-from-home because we can obtain these products at the stores at our home-away-from-home.

Since we wouldn’t want to spend the week in the same clothes, we pack garments and such, accordingly. Of course, packing clothes for each day would take up entirely too much space which is why we are careful to rent a house with a washer and dryer. We bring along detergent and dryer sheets in small containers that we pilfer from the mother load, nestled in our home-not-away-from-home. No need in purchasing items from a store that’s close to our home-away-from-home, when we have plenty in our home-not-away-from-home.

Being a writer, I must have something that I can write on. A piece of granite and chisel?……Nah. A pencil and paper?…….Nah. A really, really good number two pencil and a really, really nice piece of paper?…….Nah. A typewriter?…….Nah. I know I’ll bring a baby computer that folds up and everything.

Let me see:

Have food to cook which generates dishes to wash. Have clothes to wear which generates more washing and drying. Have minicomputer–I’m all set to work. Have strategically placed grocery stores so that we can shop.

I do believe we have done it once again. Our home-away-from-home is just like our home-not-away-from-home…….Oh, there is one thing I forgot. At our home-away-from-home we get to deal with enormous amounts of sand on a daily basis…… There, now I’m done.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

