I Got Stuff, You Got Stuff, All God’s Children Got Stuff

It’s nice to take a break from running, shooting, being shot at, killing,and being killed. And, if it’s not that, it’s all those nasty creatures and critters, interplanetary annihilation, and just plain “stuff”.running with the bulls

That’s what it boils down to, the “stuff;” it’s always in direct correlation with the “stuff.”

Oops! Maybe I should explain. I’m talking about paper. The words, sentences, paragraphs, pages…….You know…the stuff!

We gather all the stuff that’s printed on the pages and smash the pages together. Then we take two additional pieces of paper that are thicker. Now these two pieces are very special. We print special information and pretty pictures, then smash them in front and behind all the many pieces of paper that have previously been smashed together.

Now, if you’ re worried that I’m trashing trees, most of what I’m describing is virtual paper, the kind that pops up on your computer screen… Although, today trees are grown for the express purpose of making paper. It could be that if we don’t use them as such, someone’s just gonna come along, cut them down, and sell them by the truckload to heat people’s homes.  That gives us a couple of choices. We can write on it, wipe with it, or breathe it in.

…but back to the stuff.

Once the smashing is complete, the stuff magically transforms into a book…….whew!…….What started out to be a respite from the rigors of writing, became just the opposite.

Boy, I sure do enjoy taking a break from writing, in order to work on my blog and interject some humor and perhaps a bit of silliness into my and my reader’s lives.

I know…… I know, that last segue was a bit forced, but let’s keep going, it’s bound to smooth out.

I had a notion to bring up things that make no sense. Have you ever heard of the saying, “plum e’t up with the stupid”? And the first thing to come to mind was “linear tactics.”

british fighting linesNow, you’re thinking you don’t know what this is, but you do, and unless you’re an expert on silly ways to die, in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and the beginning of the twentieth century, you’ll more than likely agree with me.

Why in the world would you stand in a line, several men deep, facing another line in a more or less identical configuration and then take turns firing chunks of lead at each other, as if you were the next to volley a shuttlecock in a badminton tournament?

I have explored the reasons behind this particular battle tactic and when I think of the men in charge of the men standing on the line, I go running and screaming back to my safe word: “stupid.” Nuff said.

Our next lesson in, “I wonder why they do the things they do?”

This particular section is an all-encompassing series of events. For instance, what would possess an otherwise healthy group of young men to jump in front of a healthy group of 2000 pound bovines, equipped with ready-made weapons and run?

Well…… I don’t know.

By the same token another group of young men in a different part of the world jump on to what looks like a giant Sequoia that’s been stripped of its foliage and cut in half. Guess what they do then? Right, push it down a hill. Now about all I can glean from this carnage is to hang on, even as fellow competitors are falling off while others are trying to climb on, being dragged and run over, as this huge piece of unstoppable lumber continues downhill. That there’s fun with a capital ‘F’ and a double ‘un’.

What I am able to conclude from these two annual happenings is that everyone who doesn’t die is a winner and with an added bonus…… no compensation.log riding

I guess what it all boils down to is everyone has different ideas of what fun is…and there ain’t nothing wrong with that. Just the same, I’m going to hang out with my safe word. You never can tell when a little bit of stupid may come in handy.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

