Twenty-Four Hours to Procreate…I Always Thought There’d Be More Time

In my latest writing endeavor I have four different story lines, all supposedly converging near the end of the book in order to bring about a grandiose conclusion. I have a habit of writing myself into inescapable situations; as though a painter spreading a fresh coat of polyurethane on the floor would ignore the door and paint himself into the nearest corner.

Mayfly in May

Mayfly in May (Photo credit: servitude)

 Now at first glance this would seem to be a futile strategy. Imagine an author using this formula to construct a coherent plot while attempting to tie the numerous loose ends together, forming a smooth ball. Ultimately this ball must convey your story to the reader in a simple yet entertaining fashion.

 In other words you want to jerk the reader into your story on the first page and then spit them out after the last word; on the last page, believing that they were the hero in this fantastic journey and that numerous worlds are in their debt.

 I choose to view my present situation as having my “back to the wall,” with just enough room on the floor for my feet… Yep, I’m stuck in the corner again.  Surprisingly, this is the place that I strive to find myself with each new work I create. I have found that when I’m able to free my characters from these desperate situations in which there seem to be no options that my writing is at its best.

 Even though it takes a while to conceive the perfect strategy to exit these literary traps, I don’t consider it to be any form of writer’s block. Rather I view it as a brief respite, if you will, to ensure my writing is the best that it can be and so, I take time to post a blog, which in turn gives me an idea.

 Well, I guess it’s back to the novel, but before I go, I would be remiss if I didn’t pass along a tidbit of totally irrelevant, useless information.

 Since we’re in the firm embrace of the fall season, I’m going to spring forward. Take the Mayfly for instance. No one creature does so little to achieve so much in the world of insects. Since there are many species of Mayflies with varying habits, I’ll do a brief summary that will give a general idea of this insect’s exciting and dynamic life.

 After the egg hatches, the larvae spend anywhere from a couple days to two years living and feeding under water. Once they emerge from their moist living arrangement, they dry out and take to the air.

 In a show of tenderness and affection the male snatches the female from the air, gently molests her and then tosses his love to the side to make her way back to the water, where she will lay her eggs and die, before or after being ingested by a fish. The male then flies off into the sunset to die on dry land. It kinda gets ya right here (hand covering heart) just knowing that romance isn’t dead.

 And to think, they mate for life!


 

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

