Periscope Up

What could be better than a long sandwich?…Hmm…Let me think about twelve inches filled with good stuff, like ham, salami, prosciutto, lettuce, tomato, onions, vinegar and oil.

English: 12-inch ham Submarine sandwich with d...

English: 12-inch ham Submarine sandwich with double meat by Subway ‪中文(繁體)‬: Subway 6英寸長火腿潛艇三明治/潛艇三文治 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now, the problem is what to call this spectacular creation…   Wadda ya mean? It’s already been created, and they call it a what, a submarine sandwich? Well, I guess that makes sense.  It does look something like a submarine.

Wait a minute! You can’t change in mid stride.  You say it’s also called a Hoagie? Because it was invented on Hog Island and the name was eventually shortened to Hoagie.

Okay, I’ll buy that. Whacha got next?  Grinder–because the crust of the bread was so hard to chew?  Alright, that’s enough. I’ll take it from here.

Sub sandwiches, as I am used to calling them, have many other names. It kinda depends where in the country you’re standing as to what name you slap on your sandwich.

For instance, Poor Boy-St. Louis; Po’ BoyLouisiana; Torpedo and Bomber both belong to New York.  I’m sure that these names, plus many others, are used all over the country and even in different parts of the world.

Now, if I may be so bold or if you would rather I not be so bold, irregardless, I’m going to name a sandwich myself and I’m going to call this sandwich, Bob. Now, I know you’re wondering why I chose this name. In answer to this question I must reply, “I haven’t the slightest idea,” other than I simply wanted to.

Now, this is the lousiest segue I have ever used to move from one subject to another but again it’s my blog and since that makes me the boss…well you know.

When I’m writing these posts, I usually try to associate the topic in some way with the art of writing. So in this post I will accomplish this task in this way.  Now pay attention…I am only going to say this once.

I like to write.

Have a nice day.

Leave a comment

Filed under On writing

Leave a Reply

